Tech Support

So, I am about to eliminate 99% of your need for “Technical Support”.

Well, maybe 99% is an overestimation, but I like to think positive.

We all have that friend who “knows computers” that we like to call when we have some sort of oddity with our computer. Sometimes, we are that friend.

So, I am about to inspire you, educate you and as the Chinese proverb goes, I am going to teach you to fish.

P.S. (wait, is that bad grammar in the middle of a writing before completion to add a P.S.? Why yes it is. Good to know)

By the way then, no that is not from a Biblical proverb, Give a man a fish, you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, you feed him for a lifetime. It is in fact an old Chinese Proverb, if you question this for any reason, I will then give YOU the tools to determine otherwise.

See, back to that Teaching thing. Yay me.

So, first things first we need a problem. I am going to use a recent issue as the problem, as in, an issue that is so recent I am having it now.

My hard drive on my laptop is making a clicking sound. That sounds like a real tech kind of thing I suppose. At least enough that one might be worried about it, as in me, as in, hell yes I am worried.

Ok, so the first tool we will need is an internet browser – I am hoping you have one and know how to open it because if not – how in the hell did you get here?

Open her up. Well damn, that does not sound right. Also, very sexist of me to assume YOUR internet browser is female. Maybe it’s a male browser, how the hell do I know?

So, Open your Browser up. There, less offensive. Go ahead, I will give you a second to do it.

Ok, now in your address bar type in www.google.com

You saw that coming right? I mean, who would not see that coming. Stay with me though, because again, this is teaching you how to fish, and by telling you to go to Google would be just pointing to the lake, and saying, the fish are in there. Get em.

So, we (I) decided that we were going to deal with my hard drive making a clicking  sound – so, go ahead and type that into Google. Tell you what, unfair, that is making you do everything – here you go just click this image below.

AND – Wammo – you have fishing rod in hand, hooked baited and ready to go!

So, the thing to remember about any and all fishing trips, is using the right bait for the waters you are fishing in.

For example, if you are looking for the President of Bulgaria in 1944, it is probably not a good idea to put into Google, “Pudding Recipes”. Yes, sarcastic, but you understand the point. WHATEVER you are looking for, be specific.

Also, Google should probably be your homepage if it is not already. Why? Because there is a lot of shit that is unknown to us all, and knowing, is half the battle. (Thank you adolescence with GI Joe)

By the way number two – Wikipedia is NOT fact. So double check your shit if you end up there. Reading a real book is also not a bad idea once in a while. Really, its kind of nice.

Oh, by the way, on our little Hard Drive deep sea trip, I checked the first three links, all of them, unsurprising, said that I may be dealing with a potential hard drive failure.

So, I am busy backing my shit up.

Now, you can head out into the world, ok, “digital/virtual” world and catch yourself some decent fish. Now, when you call up that friend of yours who “knows” computers you can say…”So, my drive was making a clicking sound, and after I Googled it, it seems like it may be going to fail…”

Damn that is a sexy beginning to any conversation.

Enjoy your day.

And remember, with great power, comes great responsibility.

Published in: on February 23, 2012 at 5:13 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zenbyte42.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/tech-support/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I saw what you did there!


Leave a Reply

